Contact Us


Rancho Ortega Blog discusses matters of public interest in South Orange County, including the communities of San Juan Capistrano, Ladera Ranch and Rancho Mission Viejo.

The writings of Don Juan Ortega on the Rancho Ortega Blog are the personal views of the author. This blog is not authored by nor does it have any affiliation whatsoever with any other person, place or entity using the name "Rancho Ortega" (or any similar name).

We have installed some new anti-spam software, and we are going to try again with open registration. Registration and sign-in information are available at the bottom of the far right column. As always, if you have any questions or concerns, you may email us at



SONGS Decommissioning Panel Named, Includes Local Stakeholders

It’s been awhile since we’ve talked about San Onofre, but Southern California Edison and San Diego Gas & Electric have named the members of the SONGS Decommissioning Panel that will oversee the safe decommissioning of the shuttered nuclear facility.  Courtesy of the Dana Point Times:

Lisa Bartlett, Tim Brown and Sam Allevato, the mayors of Dana Point, San Clemente and San Juan Capistrano, respectively, were among the members named to the panel today.

They will be joined by Capistrano Unified School District Board of Trustees President John Alpay, Orange County Supervisor Pat Bates and Gene Stone, a leader of the local environmental movement and founder of Residents Organized for a Safe Environment. The group will be chaired by David Victor, an expert in energy markets and a professor at UC San Diego.

Other members include Oceanside City Councilman Jerome Kern, Valentine Macedo of Laborers International Union of North America Local 89, Gerry Brown of Orange County Coastkeeper, Donna Boston of the Orange County Sheriff’s Department, San Diego County Supervisor Bill Horn and Jim Leach of the South Orange County Economic Coalition.

The utilities have also invited representatives of the California State Parks and Camp Pendleton to join the commission, as well as other academics. Edison appointed Chris Thompson, a former chief of staff for Sen. Dianne Feinstein as its vice president of decommissioning last August.

The Commission has a two year charter, and individual membership terms will be limited to six years.

Comments are closed.