Contact Us


Rancho Ortega Blog discusses matters of public interest in South Orange County, including the communities of San Juan Capistrano, Ladera Ranch and Rancho Mission Viejo.

The writings of Don Juan Ortega on the Rancho Ortega Blog are the personal views of the author. This blog is not authored by nor does it have any affiliation whatsoever with any other person, place or entity using the name "Rancho Ortega" (or any similar name).

We have installed some new anti-spam software, and we are going to try again with open registration. Registration and sign-in information are available at the bottom of the far right column. As always, if you have any questions or concerns, you may email us at



Map of Orange County’s Fifth District

From time to time, we make reference to Orange County’s Fifth District.  Patricia Bates is currently the Fifth District’s representative on Orange County’s Board of Supervisors.  What are the boundaries of the Fifth District?  What cities constitute the Fifth District?  The map below shows the boundaries and the cities of Orange County’s Fifth Supervisorial District:

Map of Orange County’s Fifth District

Geographically, the Fifth District is the second largest district in Orange County.  It contains over 600,000 residents.  In addition to the cities of Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente and San Juan Capistrano, the Fifth District also includes the unincorporated areas of Coto de Caza, Las Flores, Ladera Ranch and the future Rancho Mission Viejo.  Interestingly, while the City of Irvine lies primarily in the Third District, the Irvine community of Shady Canyon is part of the Fifth District.

Comments are closed.